Deferred Disposition

Deferred Disposition - in Person, Electronically, or by Mail

Deferred Disposition is an option that will keep your citation from being reported as a conviction on your driving record and will be dismissed if all terms required are successfully met. If any requirements are not met and you cannot provide a satisfactory reason why at a hearing before a judge, you will be found guilty and a conviction will be reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety. 

Please Note: Not all violations are approved for Deferred Disposition.

The Court Clerk may process requests for Deferred Disposition ("Deferred") from a Defendant, or his or her attorney, at the Court Clerk’s window and may complete paperwork for the Judge’s signature if the defendant meets the eligibility requirements set forth below. Defendants not meeting said eligibility requirements may present their request for Deferred to the Court by setting the case on the Court’s "First Appearance," "Attorney Plea," or "Pre-Trial" docket.

Eligibility to Request Deferred Disposition

Request by mail will not be accepted for the following offenses:

  • The driver is a holder of a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)
  • The offense occurred in a construction or maintenance work zone when workers were present
  • The offense is a status offense involving a violation of the Alcohol Beverage Code
  • The offense is for Driving Under the Influence pursuant to 106.041 of the Alcohol Beverage Code
  • The offense is a status offense involving a violation of Chapter 161 of the Health and Safety Code (Tobacco)
  • Juvenile cases (must appear in person with a parent or guardian)

Submit Request for Deferred Disposition in Person, Electronically, or by Mail

To request a deferred disposition, you can appear in person at the court, submit your application request electronically through this form, or mail the below documentation to the court:

Terms & Procedures

  • Final disposition shall be deferred for 90 days
  • The Defendant shows proof of valid Driver’s License or state-issued ID card
  • The Court shall impose a Special Expense Fee and court costs of the violation as determined by the Court’s fee schedule
  • Payment Options
    • Option 1: The Defendant pays total amount of citation as determined by the Court’s fee schedule a at the time the deferred disposition is requested
    • Option 2: The Defendant pays total amount of citation as determined by the Court’s schedule in full by the end of the 90 day deferral period
  • The Defendant is at least 25 years of age, or if less than 25 years of age agrees to complete a driving safety course approved under Chapter 1001, Texas Education Code
    Note: This if for moving violations only
  • The Defendant has not been granted Deferred in the City of Victoria within 12 months of the date of the request
  • The Defendant is not currently on Deferred in the City of Victoria
  • During the 90 day deferral period, the Defendant shall keep the court updated of current address, obey all the laws of the State of Texas and the Ordinances of the City of Victoria, and comply with all other deferral requirements imposed by the Judge

At the End of the 90 Day Deferral Period

Upon verification of successful completion of deferral terms, the Clerk shall present the case to the judge for dismissal. If the Defendant fails to adhere to deferral terms, the Clerk shall summon the Defendant to court to show good cause why the terms were violated. If the Defendant fails to appear, a final judgment shall be prepared for the Judge’s signature without unnecessary delay and a conviction will be entered and reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

  1. Municipal Court


    Physical Address
    107 W Juan Linn Street
    Victoria, TX 77901


    Directions

    Mailing Address
    P.O. Box 1758
    Victoria, TX 77902

    Phone: 361-485-3050
    Fax: 361-485-3065

    Hours


    Monday through Friday
    8 am to 5 pm